May Day

may day
may day

May 29
I anticipated the forthnight
and awaited with hopes high
for the man of change not to die

29 May
was the day for which I pray
for him to come make hay
because where the sun shines he hails

May…
then, casted was the die of fate
a story I would shy to say
now that I know they were fairy tales

…29
not just another number
it was a time I was fed a lie
the one that now arouse my anger

That day
the 29th of May
a porported democracy day
when they demonstrate in their crazy way

100 days and still counting
with the pain i am feeling
I shall hold on to the imam’s preaching
that Nigeria will change only by God’s willing

Leave a Reply

