280px-Nigeria_-_Location_Map_(2013)_-_NGA_-_UNOCHA.svgNigeria i / n aɪ ˈ dʒ ɪər i ə /, officially the Federal Republic of Nigeria, is a federal constitutional republic comprising 36 states and its Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. The country is located in West Africa and shares land borders with the Republic of Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, and Nigerin the north. Its coast in the south lies on the Gulf of Guinea in the Atlantic Ocean.

Capital- Abuja

Location- 9°4′N 7°29′E / 9.067°N 7.483°E

Largest city- Lagos

Official languages- English

Major languages- Hausa, Igbo, Yoruba

Other languages- Edo, Efik, Fulani, Idoma, Ijaw, Kanuri, Itsekiri, Urhobo-Isoko, Igala, Igbira, Nupe, Ibibio, Gwari, Tiv, Birom, Margi, Jukun, Katab

Ethnic groups(2013 [ 2 ])-
*.21% Yoruba
*.21% Hausa
*.18% Igbo
*.11% Fulani
*.7% Efik-Ibibio
*.4% Kanuri
*.3% Tiv
*.3% Edo
*.2% Ijaw
*.10% others

Demonym- Nigerian

Government- Federal presidential republic

President- Goodluck Jonathan

Vice-President- Namadi Sambo

Legislature- National Assembly

Upper house- Senate

Lower house- House of Representatives

Gained independence from the United Kingdom. Unification of Southern and Northern Nigeria in 1914. Declared and recognised on 1st October, 1960. Declared Republic on 1st October, 1963

Area- Total 923,768 km2( 32nd)
356,667 sq mi
Water (%)- 1.4
Population- 2013 estimate -174,507,539
– 2006 census140,431,790
– Density-188.9/km2- 489.3/sq mi

GDP( PPP)2013 estimate
– Total$1.018 trillion
– Per capita$5,600
GDP(nominal)2013 estimate
– Total$522 billion
– Per capita$2,760
Gini(2010)48.8 high
HDI(2013)0.504 low· 152nd

Currency Naira(₦) ( NGN)

Time zone WAT( UTC 1)
– Summer ( DST)not observed( UTC 1)

Drives on the right

Calling code- 234
ISO 3166 code- NG
Internet TLD- .ng